What does other Snapchatters mean on Snapchat Story?
Have you ever wondered what it means to see “other Snapchatters” on a Snapchat Story Viewer page?
If so, we are going to enlighten you about what that means.
Oddly, you won’t find anything about this topic on Snapchat’s Support page.
However, that didn’t prevent us from digging into the matter to share what it means when you see “other Snapchatters” in 2023.
Is there a hidden feature that we aren’t supposed to know about, or a tool that we don’t know about?
Let’s see what we discovered about “what does other Snapchatters mean on Snapchat Story?”
What Does Other Snapchatters Mean on Snapchat Story?
Snapchat Story and “Other Snapchatters”
When you see “Other Snapchatters” on Snapchat Stories, they are users who you have not yet added, or those who may or may not have added you.
If you wonder how a user can view your Story, yet not be on your friends’ list, that means your account is public.
Therefore, anyone can see your Snapchat Stories.
If, for whatever reason, you don’t want just anyone on Snapchat to see your Stories, here are the steps to prevent that.
- Open your Snapchat app.
- Tap on your profile icon at the top left corner of the screen.
- Tap on Settings in the top right corner.
- Go to the “Who Can…“, then on “View My Story.”
- Select “Friends Only.”
Alternatively, you can choose the “Custom” option to hide Stories from specific users.
Does this mean that only users not on your friends’ list are seen as “Other Snapchatters”?
No. It doesn’t.
Who Are These “Other Snapchatters”?
People You Haven’t Added or Mutual Friends
When you have a public Snapchat account, you’re going to see them as Story viewers as Other Snapchatters.
This means you haven’t added them, but your public setting allows them to see your Snapchat Stories.
These “Other Snapchatters” are either mutual friends of friends you have added, or just random users on the app.
Additionally, it can mean that these users have added you by sending you a request on the app, but you have yet to respond to the friend request.
Friends Who Have Removed You
Whether you have a public or private Snapchat account, friends that have been removed themselves from your friends’ list can show up as story viewers as Other Snapchatters.
Also, because that friend isn’t on your friends’ list, it won’t show up under the normal story viewers’ list, but instead under the “Other Snapchattters” list.
Friends Who Have Blocked You
Another reason that you might see someone in the Other Snapchatter section is that the user is a former friend who has blocked you after viewing your Snapchat Story.
That means that your once friend had viewed your Stories, but now that they have blocked you, they go under the Other Snapchatters list.
That friend’s name will no longer be seen in your regular story viewers’ list.
Keep in mind that someone who has blocked you will only appear in Other Snapchatters if they viewed stories before they blocked you.
Otherwise, there will be no name associated with the Other Snapchatter.
In both cases (friends who have removed or blocked you), you will know whether they were your friend by tapping on the user’s profile icon in the app, then “My Friends”, and look for the name in your friends’ list.
If the user was your friend, check chats to see if they are in “Pending” mode.
That means they have removed you from their friends’ list.
What Does Other Snapchatters Mean– Even when The User Is Still a Friend?
Let’s face it, Snapchat isn’t above having a few glitches now and then.
So, if a person is still your friend, but shows up in the Other Snapchatters section, that’s what happens.
The app glitched.
There are few, if any, Snapchatters who have not experienced some sort of glitch or issue with the app.
One that happens quite a bit is an error with Snapchat Stories not loading.
What does that mean? It means it’s just a mistake.
If the app shows that you are still friends, then you are still friends.
The glitch is most likely to be with the Snapchat Story feature.
Try sending a streak to your friend to clear it up if you want to.
Can You Find out If Someone Unfriended You on Snapchat?
If you’re not seeing videos or photos from someone that’s been your friend on the app, it’s a good indicator that they have unfriended you.
Depending on the user’s privacy settings, you may or may not see their Stories.
How Can You Delete “Other Snapchatters”?
If you really don’t want to see names in the Other Snapchatters section of your Story, just block them. That will resolve it.
Why Can’t You Tap on The Profile of Other Snapchatters?
When Snapchat users appear in the “Other Snapchatters” section of your Story, it’s likely because they have blocked you.
When you are blocked, you can’t open the user’s profile.
We have discussed three things that could be causing “Other Snapchatters” to appear in that section of your Story.
- First, it could be users that have added you, but you haven’t added them back yet.
- Second, users could be friends who have removed you after viewing stories.
- Third, it might be that users or others have blocked you after viewing your Snapchat Stories.
Since Snapchat doesn’t notify you when friends remove or block you, it’s up to you to check out their profiles when you can.
It took some time and effort, but we unraveled the mystery and shared what we discovered with our readers.
So, what does “Other Snapchatters” mean on Snapchat Stories?
We hope this article has helped solve the mystery of “Other Snapchatters” for you.
It’s unfortunate that thus far, Snapchat has yet to add this to their support page or FAQ page.