How to See Who Viewed Your Facebook Profile

How to See Who Viewed Your Facebook Profile in 2022

Last Updated: September 19, 2022
Curious about the methods to find out how to see who viewed your Facebook profile? No third-party app required!
EarthWeb is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Finding out how to see who viewed your Facebook profile has always had its appeal since Facebook’s unprecedented boom back in the days.

Such a feature is available on its predecessor, Friendster, which is one of the most popular social media platforms in the early 2000s. 

Similarly, LinkedIn gives access to such a sought-after feature to its premium members.

But it seems like the Meta-owned application has more elusive rules compared to its counterparts.

Are there really methods to see who viewed your Facebook profile in 2022? Let us find out!

How to See Who Viewed Your Facebook Profile in 2022

Sorry to spill this on you, but Facebook itself has already dismissed circulating rumors claiming that there are proven methods to see who viewed your profile. 

The technology giants said in a community post that it does not let its users have access to the information detailing the identity of people who viewed their profiles.

Moreover, Facebook’s management encourages users to report third-party applications claiming that they can let you in on the secret sneaky profile views.

While it did not detail the reason behind this decision, it is more likely related to privacy concerns.

On the other hand, there are still ways to find out who viewed your profile.

Although these are subtle ways to tell, such methods still help, in case one is under the surveillance of a stalker.

How to See Who Viewed Your Facebook Profile Through Likes

Facebook offers different audience settings for posts.

These are commonly limited to options that include a for your eyes only option or “Only Me,” a specific friend or group, Friends, and the Public. 

Even users not belonging to one’s friend list can like a post, as long as the privacy setting is set to “Public.”

If someone who is not your Facebook friend liked your public post, this might indicate that they have deliberately searched for your profile to see a list of your posts and clicked the like button.

Some profile lurkers accidentally like old photos and posts while scrolling.

If you see one on your notification, it might indicate that someone who does not intend to hit the like button has accidentally clicked it which sent you a signal about their action.

How to See Who Viewed Your Facebook Profile Through Comments

Another obvious way to tell if someone has viewed your profile is through comments.

Even when the audience is set to “Public,” a Facebook post normally just runs on the timeline of the people on your friend list.

A comment from an outsider means they have intentionally left a comment and they want you to know they have searched for you by leaving an obvious footprint on your post.

How to See Who Viewed Your Facebook Profile Through Facebook Stories

Facebook Stories

Facebook Stories is another smart way to detect if your profile is being tracked.

Normally, a user’s Story runs on the feed of your Facebook friends.

And depending on your privacy settings, your Messenger connections–the people you have connected with only on Messenger who are not your Facebook friends, can also have access to your stories. 

But when your Story’s privacy setting is set to “Public,” anyone who has viewed your profile can view the post before it expires.

Here is how to find out who has viewed your Story:

Step 1. Go to your Facebook or Messenger app and click on your Story 

Step 2. Tap on the “Viewers” label found at the rear left of your screen. This will show a list of people who have viewed your post so far

Step 3. Your viewers will be categorized into three sets. First is the people on your friend list, second is the people on your Messenger connection, and third is the general public.

The latter indicates the number of people who have searched for your profile and viewed your Story but does not indicate the specific identities of these viewers.

Debunking the Myth Behind Facebook’s “People You May Know”

Aside from the absence of a tried and tested way to instantly point out people who have viewed your profile, Facebook debunked another myth circulating all over the internet.

Many users think that suggestions on the “People You May Know” section of Facebook might be users who regularly view their profile or those who have viewed it at one point.

Sorry to wake you up from your daydream, but users on your Suggested Friends are selected based on a variety of criteria.

Here is how people end up on your People You May Know section, according to Facebook:

  • People with whom you have a friend or friends in common
  • People belonging to the same network such as but not limited to your hometown or city, school, or workplace
  • People who are members of the same Facebook group
  • People with whom you share a tag on photos or posts
  • People on your uploaded contacts

Limiting Previous Posts on Facebook

Limiting Previous Posts on Facebook

The feeling of being stalked by someone on Facebook is uncomfortable, especially since you have no idea who exactly they are and what they are after.

But there is a way to escape the fear by taking proactive steps on your privacy. Facebook allows users to limit their previous Facebook posts at once.

It is painstakingly difficult to go through every post and change privacy settings individually.

Here is a hack on how to limit past posts at once and make all your posts exclusive to people on your friend list.

Step 1. Go to your Facebook app and click on the arrow pointing downwards to show a list of actions to be taken next

Step 2. On the drop-down menu, scroll to see the tab dedicated to settings and privacy. After finding the label, click on “Settings” then tap “Privacy” next

Step 3. Once on the tab labeled for limiting the audience for your previous posts, select “Limit Past Posts” and click “Friends”

Step 4. Go with your selection and all of your previous posts on Facebook will automatically be limited to your Facebook friends’ views only

Conclusion

Due to privacy concerns, Facebook still does not allow users to have an access to see the people who have viewed their profiles.

On the bright side, there are subtle but helpful ways to determine these kinds of activities through likes, comments, and other obvious actions that send a signal to one’s notifications.

Nevertheless, the best way to prevent the public from having access to your posts is to change your privacy settings exclusively to “Friends.”

This way, only people whom you know can view, like, and comment on your posts, thus calming your anxiety about being stalked.

We hope you enjoyed this article about how to see who viewed your Facebook profile in 2022 with no third-party app required.

Stay on top of the latest technology trends — delivered directly to your inbox, free!

Subscription Form Posts

Don't worry, we don't spam

Written by Jason Wise

Hi! I’m Jason. I tend to gravitate towards business and technology topics, with a deep interest in social media, privacy and crypto. I enjoy testing and reviewing products, so you’ll see a lot of that from me here on EarthWeb.

Latest Stories

Last Updated: September 19, 2022
Curious about the methods to find out how to see who viewed your Facebook profile? No third-party app required!
How to See Who Viewed Your Facebook Profile
EarthWeb is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Stay on top of the latest technology trends — delivered directly to your inbox, free!

Subscription Form Posts

Don't worry, we don't spam

Written by Jason Wise

Hi! I’m Jason. I tend to gravitate towards business and technology topics, with a deep interest in social media, privacy and crypto. I enjoy testing and reviewing products, so you’ll see a lot of that from me here on EarthWeb.

Latest Stories