How to Know if Someone Blocked You On Instagram

Last Updated: October 20, 2021

Jason Wise

Jason Wise

In this article, we solve the confusion by discussing ways you can check whether someone blocked you on Instagram.
How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Instagram?
EarthWeb is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Getting blocked on Instagram is a frequent occurrence. If someone feels you are violating their privacy, they can block you in a few seconds.

Now, if you think of the common reasons people block each other on Instagram, you’ll end you with a long list.

But what’s interesting is that Instagram processes this uniquely. This’s because Instagram doesn’t let you know directly that someone has blocked you.

Hence, there is confusion among users trying to figure out whether someone has blocked them or someone has just shut their account.

In this article, we solve the confusion by discussing ways you can check whether someone blocked you on Instagram.

How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Instagram

Instagram Blocked

If you wonder whether someone has blocked you on Instagram, then you need to figure it out yourself. This’s because Instagram is notorious. They never say directly when you get blocked by someone.

So, what happens when you get blocked? Instagram restricts you from seeing that user’s posts, comments, stories, followers, following and more.

You don’t see their activity on the platform, and even a search for them results in vain. In simple words, they become a ghost to you. Let’s discuss some indicators that get reflected when someone blocks you.

If you search for the person, you won’t find the ID in the results. Even if you find them, you won’t get any information about their activity on Instagram.

For instance, their following and followers will appear nil. Comments and likes disappear. If you send them a direct message, they will receive it and older conversations will disappear.

Now, when you search for them, you don’t see their Instagram ID in the results. But there’s a loophole.

If you had searched for them before, then their ID will still appear in the searched section. But this also doesn’t stay for long.

Hence, how can you know for sure that someone blocked you? To find out if you have been blocked on Instagram

There are two possibilities when someone’s account appears deserted. Either that person has blocked you or they have deactivated their account.

You can find this by making a search for their ID in the search bar of the Instagram application. Now, click on their profile.

If you see all the posts, following, and followers, then all is fine. But if you don’t, then raise the two possibilities mentioned above.

You can always use a third-party service to find details about someone’s activity. For instance, Unfollowgram tells you who unfollows you on Instagram.

But then again, if someone blocks you, then they automatically unfollow you on Instagram.

Hence, the only way to make sure someone has blocked you is through the process of elimination.

We eliminate the second possibility that the person has deactivated their account. By doing this, you can know the real scenario.

How to Know if Someone Detected or Deactivated Their Instagram Account

Instagram

The best way to make sure that if someone has really blocked you, is by visiting their profile via someone else’s account.

If you can see all the posts, followings, and followers from another’s account, then you can relax because the person has definitely blocked you.

But if you still can’t see the general profile even after using other accounts chances are that the person has deleted or deactivated their account.

You can send them direct messages, but they won’t see it. You can even mention them on posts or tag them in comments, but they won’t receive the notification.

The only way you can interact with them is when they unblock you.

Conclusion

There you have it. Now you know how to make sure whether someone has blocked you on Instagram. The best way is to use other accounts to access their profile.

If you are successful, then the person has blocked you. If not, then the person might have deleted or deactivated their account.

Written by Jason Wise

Hi! I’m Jason. I tend to gravitate towards business and technology topics, with a deep interest in social media, privacy and crypto. I enjoy testing and reviewing products, so you’ll see a lot of that by me here on EarthWeb.