BEST INSTAGRAM GROWTH TOOLS
Do you know how to block someone on Instagram?
Instagram is a great place for sharing videos and photos about your life. It’s a place where you can keep in touch with friends and family, follow your favorite influencers and celebrities, and even connect with new people.
However, sometimes there are going to be users that you don’t want to see your posts. Figuring out how to block someone on Instagram as essential when there is a user that you don’t want following you.
There are a lot of people out there who want to know how to block a user on Instagram. If you are currently reading this, then it’s probably because you’re one of them. Don’t worry, blocking someone on Instagram is really easy, and it’s not going to take a lot of your time.
Why Would You Want to Block Someone on Instagram?
Blocking Instagram users is fairly common practice. People block other users when they don’t want them to see certain content, or a certain profile.
Maybe there are users out there that you don’t want to see your profile as well.
There are a lot of reasons why you might want to prevent someone from seeing your Instagram profile.
Perhaps you’ve got a friendship that has gone bad, or there is a user acting inappropriately, or there’s just someone that you don’t want following you anymore.
You might also want to block an account that you feel is spam, inappropriate, or annoying. Whatever the reason for it, let’s take a look at some top tips to block a person on Instagram.
How to Block Someone on Instagram
For this article, we went and blocked Instagram’s account, and then unblocked it again so that we could show you how easy it could be.
- The first thing you’ll need to do is go to the profile of the user that you want to block. You can do this by entering their username in the search bar at the top of your page.
- Once you’ve done this, go to the top of the page to the right. You will see three dots. This is the menu icon. The menu has a lot of different settings to choose from, from reporting and blocking. Select these three dots and choose the option that says ‘block’. It should actually be the first option that comes up.
- A dialog box will come up, and they will ask you to confirm this change before you officially block the user.
And that’s all there is to it. Now you won’t be able to see that profile, or their content.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Instagram?
A lot of people speculate about what actually happens when you block a user on Instagram. Is the user going to find out that you blocked them?
What now? When you block an Instagram user, you will never be able to see any more content from them. This includes videos, pictures, and even comments they have left on other accounts.
If you have a public profile, the blocked user still might see your comments and likes on other people’s posts. If you don’t want them to be able to do this, then you need to set your profile to private.
Any comments or likes that you have left on the blocked account are automatically going to be removed. The blocked account also won’t be able to tag you in comments, direct message you, or tag you in pictures.
Just remember that if you choose to make your profile private, then you will need to approve anyone before they start following you. They will need to send you a request, and you will need to accept it.
Will the Person I Blocked be Aware That I Blocked Them?
So, now you know how to block a person on Instagram. However, what if someone has blocked you?
Many people are worried about what’s going to happen if they block a person on Instagram. Don’t worry, the user you have blocked is not going to get notified that you have done so.
However, if they try to look up your profile, and you have set your account to public, then they will not see any posts.
This is obviously going to give them a hint that you potentially blocked them. However, if you choose to set your profile to private, then they will not be able to search for your account.
Can I Unblock Someone on Instagram?
If you blocked someone, but you regret it and want to take it back at a later date, then it is possible to unblock them.
You might choose to unblock someone if you decide that you actually want to see their content again. Thankfully, unblocking a user on Instagram is just as easy as blocking them.
All you have to do is go to their profile, and where there is usually a follow button on other people’s profiles, there will be an unblock button. Just select this button, and you will unblock the user.
Has Someone Blocked My Profile?
You can find out if someone has blocked you by going to their profile. If you look at their username, and their profile doesn’t show any posts, then this means that they have blocked you.
You will still be able to see how many people are following them, and how many people they’re following. The bottom line is that there is no way to contact someone who’s blocked you through Instagram.
If you come across a profile that you think is inappropriate, and that you think shouldn’t be on Instagram, then instead of blocking it, you can report it.
Posts normally get reported if someone thinks that that they are inappropriate or spam.
Inappropriate posts include content such as bullying, violence, and hate speech. When you report a post, Instagram will let you know within a day if the post you reported got taken off or not.
Adjust Your Privacy
We recommend making your Instagram profile private so that you can choose who you want and don’t want following you.
This feature is an effective, safe way to prevent people following you that you don’t know. You can change your privacy settings in the Instagram settings menu.
As we mentioned briefly above, when someone wants to follow you and you have a private account, then they will have to request this. You then have the discretion to either accept or decline their request.
As you can see, blocking and unblocking people on Instagram is super easy.
Now that you know how to block someone on Instagram, it’s going to be simple and straightforward figuring out what to do when you are faced with someone that you don’t want following your profile.